I consider myself a pretty literate guy – I have a favorite poet, I read the fiction submissions in the Atlantic, I know who David Foster Wallace is – but it seems like every time I set foot in a bookstore, I feel overwhelmed by the dearth of titles and authors I’m able to recognize.

In an effort to provide some semblance of structure to my otherwise ad hoc method of choosing new fiction titles (i.e. famous author, cool cover art) I’ve decided to localize my reading experience. So, as a resident of Grand Rapids, Michigan I’ve set books by Michigan authors as my point of departure into the literary world. Through this process I hope to get a better grasp of whose writing what in my home state and find a more rational platform for choosing new books to read.

Comments, criticisms, or curses – all your thoughts are welcome!

